women 2

The Philippine women’s team was crowned Asian underwater hockey champion in one of its toughest competitions yet. Team captain Chari Ongyanco said of the win, “We trained long and hard for this day, so to come out on top is a big honor for our team and our country.”  The 10-member squad, made up of players from the biggest underwater hockey group in the Philippines, Manila-based 3P Underwater Hockey Club, beat defending champion Singapore to take gold in the women’s division of the Asian Underwater Hockey Championship held November 13 to 15, 2015 in Tangerang, Indonesia.

women 1

Philippine women had dominated Asian underwater hockey in 2007, 2008, and 2009 until settling for silver in 2011 and 2013. “After a series of slumps, we’re extremely fulfilled and proud to get the gold back,” said vice-captain and the tournament’s top female scorer, Nadja Buenafe.  Losing against Singapore 4-1 in the round robin eliminations, Philippines made a determined comeback leading throughout the finals and ultimately sealing its victory with a score of 3-2.

women 3

Invented in the 1950s, underwater hockey is a sport played on the bottom of a pool between two teams of 10.  Wearing a snorkel, mask, and fins, players dive down to push a 1.2kg puck along the pool bottom with a small stick.  Only six players are allowed under water at any time, and with breathing issues to consider, players must choose tactically when to dive.  The sport started in the Philippines in 1979.

The Philippine-TR2X team, a mix of PHL’s top men and women and captained by Michelle Uy, won first place in the Mixed-Plate division. The Philippine Men’s team, led by veteran hockey player, Jay Bejar, took silver.





Underwater Hockey in the Philippine National Games 2014 is historic for the Philippine Underwater Hockey Confederation. It is the first ever underwater hockey event in the PNG.

It was a very successful event, with 43 players representing different cities namely Puerto Princesa, Lucena, Cebu, Davao and Manila.

png 2014

2014 PNG Results

Team Puerto Princesa – Gold

Team Lucena – Silver

Team Cebu – Bronze

png 2



Team Philippines that competed in the 18th CMAS Underwater Hockey Championship held in Eger, Hungary, last August 23 to September 1, 2013.


Philippine Women’s Elite

Buenafe, Nadja
De Mesa, Kristine
Lim, Bem
Lim, JV
Mariano, Nikki
Naguit, Khae
Ongyanco, Chari
Santos, Gigi
Schmiedbauer, Isa
Templo, Ines
Uy, Jowi
Uy, Micheline

Philippine Men’s Master

Arayata, Roy
Baylon, Herb
Bejar, Jay
Beloy, Joel
Carpio, Joey
Colet, Alex
Mina, Jojo
Papa, Roby
Tan, Milo
Valdes, Dennis
Valdez, Junvie



The Philippine Team wins 3 Golds and 2 Silvers at the 4th Asian Underwater Hockey Championships

The 4th Asian Underwater Hockey Championships was held in Queenstown, Singapore on 2-4 December 2011. The event, hosted by Stirling Underwater Hockey Club (Singapore), brought together some 130 players from China, Indonesia, Japan, Philippines, Singapore and Australia.

In the Nation’s Cup matches, the Philippines won gold against Singapore, Indonesia and Japan in the Men’s Division, while the Philippine Women’s Team brought home the silver medal after a close finals match against Singapore.

Players were also formed into 12 mixed teams to compete in the Challenge categories, where the Philippines dominated the three events, winning 2 golds and 1 silver – gold in the Challenge Cup (main event) and Challenge Plate categories, and silver in the Challenge Bowl category.

“We won because we are fit and because our formation was tight.” comments Mr. Alex Colet, captain of the Men’s team and the Mix A team. Aside from general ability and experience, the selection committee has put a heavy emphasis on fitness and training records of each player in deciding on the line-up of the Philippine teams.

The Philippine delegation is composed of 32 players from three underwater hockey clubs under the Philippine Underwater Hockey Confederation (PUHC): Polo Puck Pirates Underwater Hockey Club, Underwater Hockey Boot Camp and Citadel Underwater Hockey Club.


Men Elite -Gold


Women Elite – Silver


Mixed Elite – Gold


Mixed C – Gold, Plate Category


 MIXED D – Silver, Bowl Category